Creative writting, English

English – Creative Writting

Up Close and Personal

This piece of creative writing is inspired by the scene in The Hunger Games where Peeta throws Katniss the burnt bread.  It is told from Peeta’s perspective and portrays his emotions, thoughts and feelings.

It was a cold wet day in District 12, it was nothing to be unexpected. I had woken up on the cold wet day at home, my home. The Bakery. I was 16 back when it happened, easily old enough to be working in the bakery. I was working in the bakery in the weekend, it was a saturday and I had no school.

I had helped my dad in the early morning by loading bags of flour from the cellar into the bakery, we had spent about 30 minutes loading the 30kg bags into the bakery. We fired up the ovens and I collected wood and coal to burn in the ovens. It was a cold wet day so it was nice to turn the ovens on and heat the bakery up a little bit. I started making mixtures and doughs. I had made some whole grain dough and cupcake mixtures before my mother came in to help. She was in a bad mood; don’t ask why, I’ll never know. When she came in I exchanged looks with my father, he was almost saying ‘oh god, behave for your sake’. She was taking out all her frustration and anger out on me and it was making me very angry and frustrated. By the early morning I was hot and sweaty so I took a minute and stood outside on the veranda, out of the heat and away from my mother.

I was enjoying the refreshing breeze and the winter rain when I saw her out the corner of my eye. I glanced over to the tree near our backyard, there she was. She was curled up in a large leather jacket with her head poking out, she was sitting on the muddy ground in the cold winter rain. The rain was dancing around her as she glanced up at me momentarily and then she sunk back into her lost slumber. Her name was Katniss Everdeen. She was like an angel, I had loved her ever since I first heard her sing back in year five.

I had seen her around school before, she lived in the seam and had lost her father in a coal mining accident many years ago. When I saw her I felt guilt and remorse, even though I had no reason to. There she was, cold, starving and lifeless; while I have a bakery full of food, warmth and shelter. I felt guilty for her misfortune. I also loved her. I went inside and instantly my mother started barking orders at me “don’t just stand there, put the bread in the oven!’. I wanted to help Katniss, I knew she had a family to feed and I knew she was starving and cold. I grabbed some bread and held it over the fire until it burnt on the outside. I knew we couldn’t sell burnt bread, and so did mother. My mother was a wildfire.

She hit me in the face for burning the bread, “go give the bread to the pigs and cook some more you imbecile .” I walked outside and threw one loaf to the pigs and threw the other two loaves over to the tree. To Katniss. I gave the bread to Katniss because of my guilt my pity, I felt a warm feeling because I knew I had helped her. Katniss looked around for any passersby and grabbed the bread, she gave me a thankful nod and appreciative look and left into the dark cold morning rain. I acted on pity and guilt not my resentment to my mother. I loved her and seeing her in that position hurt, and made me feel guilty. was glad I had helped; even if it did result in being hit. She’s worth it. Katniss Everdeen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

